Compiled Syllabus for M.A Political Science Entrance Exam:

Syllabus is divided into two parts –

- 1. Subject Areas (70 questions carrying total 70 marks): The test would cover largely the B.A Pass and B.A (Hons.) Political Science syllabus. The focus will be on the following areas—
- **a.** Western Political Philosophy: Plato, Aristotle, Machiavelli, Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau, J.S. Mill, Karl Marx
- **b.** Modern Indian Political Thought: Gandhi and Ambedkar.
- **c.** Political theory: Concepts of liberty, equality, justice, sovereignty, citizenship, stated. International Relations: Cold War politics, NAM, SAARC, UNO, India's foreign policy particularly with China, Pakistan and USA.
- **d.** Indian Government and Politics: Making of the Constituent Assembly, parliament, cabinet, prime minister, president, state government, federalism, political parties (national and regional), elections, local government.
- e. Comparative Government and Politics
- **f.** Public Policies in India
- 2. General issues of contemporary relevance (30 marks)